

Agenda Item 1.3 April 17/18 Board Meeting

CAFII Board Chair Succession

In light of the need for the CAFII Board to identify a successor Board Chair and appoint a candidate at the June 5/18 Board meeting, the following information is provided:

- Candidate Profile: CAFII Board Chair; and
- Reverse Chronology of CAFII Board Chair, Board Vice-Chair, EOC Chair, and Treasurer Appointees.

Candidate Profile: CAFII Board Chair

CAFII Bylaw-Prescribed Duties and Responsibilities of the Board Chair:

- •if present, preside at all meetings of the Board and of the Members;
- •be an ex officio member of all committees appointed by the Board;
- •sign all instruments which require his or her signature in accordance with the By-laws or otherwise;
- •represent the Corporation as a spokesperson at public or official functions;
- •have such other powers and duties as may from time to time be assigned to him or her by the Board; and
- •must be a Director, i.e. from/nominated by a Foundation Member or a Regular Member (may not be from an Initiation Member).

The following are desired skills, attributes, experience, and related qualifications for the position of CAFII Board Chair:

- •strong knowledge of principles, ethics, and practices of successful organizations, in particular industry Associations;
- •strong verbal communication, interpersonal, and relationship-building skills;
- •a collegial nature, as must be able to work co-operatively with other Directors; the EOC Chair; the Co-Executive Directors; and the Administrative Co-ordinator;
- ability to partner with and manage the EOC Chair and Co-Executive Directors;
- strong numeracy and financial literacy skills;
- strong monitoring orientation and attention-to-detail;
- ability to work effectively with a diverse group of stakeholders;
- •experience in communicating and dealing with insurance regulators and policy-makers;
- •experience and skills in Board meeting management; ability to set, control, and run the agenda, keeping within time limits;
- demonstrated strength in handling confidential matters;
- •ability to lead by example and "set the standard" for the Board; and
- •ability to groom and help to develop the next Board Chair.

Reverse Chronology of

CAFII Board Chair, Board Vice-Chair, EOC Chair, and Treasurer Appointees

Appointments to the CAFII volunteer Officer positions of Board Chair, Board Vice-Chair, Executive Operations Committee (EOC) Chair, and Treasurer are typically made during the first Board meeting of a new governance year, immediately following the Annual Meeting of Members each June, except where noted below. In most cases, the appointed Officers have served two consecutive, one-year terms, except where noted below.

Terms (June to June, except where noted)	Board Chair	Board Vice-Chair	EOC Chair	Treasurer
2017-18	Peter McCarthy, BMO Insurance	Vacant	Pete Thorn, TD Insurance	Tony Pergola, ScotiaLife Financial
2016-17	Peter McCarthy, BMO Insurance	Joane Bourdeau, National Bank Insurance (until April 2017, at which time National Bank Insurance left CAFII membership)		Tony Pergola, ScotiaLife Financial (April 2017 onwards)
			Ο,	Raja Rajaram, CIBC Insurance (until April 2017)
2015-2016	Peter McCarthy, BMO Insurance	Joane Bourdeau, National Bank Insurance (Oct 6, 2015 onwards) Isaac Sananes, Canadian Premier (Jun 9-18, 2015)	Greg Grant, CIBC Insurance	Raja Rajaram, CIBC Insurance
2014-2015	Rino D'Onofrio, RBC Insurance (Sep 19, 2014)	Isaac Sananes, Canadian Premier (Sep 19, 2014)	Greg Grant, CIBC Insurance	Raja Rajaram, CIBC Insurance
2013-2014	Mark Cummings, ScotiaLife Financial	Rino D'Onofrio, RBC Insurance	Jennifer Hines, RBC Insurance	Raja Rajaram, CIBC Insurance
2012-2013	Mark Cummings, ScotiaLife Financial (Dec 2012 onwards) Cathy Honor, RBC Insurance (until Dec 2012)	Keith Demmings, Assurant Solutions (until Dec 2012)		Matt Fabian, BMO Insurance (until Dec 2013)
2011-2012	Cathy Honor, RBC Insurance (Dec 2011 onwards) David Minor, TD Insurance (until Dec 2011)	Keith Demmings, Assurant Solutions	John Lewsen, BMO Insurance	Matt Fabian, BMO Insurance

Last Updated: April 10, 2018

Terms (June to June, except where noted)	Board Chair	Board Vice-Chair	EOC Chair	Treasurer
2010-2011	David Minor, TD Insurance	Keith Demmings, Assurant Solutions	John Lewsen, BMO Insurance	Matt Fabian, BMO Insurance
2009-2010	David Minor, TD Insurance	Keith Demmings, Assurant Solutions	Lawrie McGill, CIBC Insurance	Matt Fabian, BMO Insurance
2007-2009	Rick Lancaster, CIBC Insurance	Steve Phillips, Assurant Solutions	Moira Gill, TD Insurance	Matt Fabian, BMO Insurance (Dec 2009 onwards) Monica Smith, BMO Insurance (Oct to Dec 2009) Victor Pywowarczuk, BMO Insurance (until Oct 2009)
2005-2007	Neil Skelding, RBC Insurance (Oct 2005 onwards)	Steve Phillips, Assurant Solutions	Lawrie McGill, CIBC Insurance	Victor Pywowarczuk, BMO Insurance
2004-2005	Cathy Honor, RBC Insurance (until Oct 2005)	Steve Phillips, Assurant Solutions	Lawrie McGill, CIBC Insurance	Victor Pywowarczuk, BMO Insurance
2002-2004	Oscar Zimmerman, ScotiaLife Financial	Isaac Sananes, Canadian Premier		Ambrish Jaiswal, CIBC Insurance
2001-2002	Oscar Zimmerman, ScotiaLife Financial	Isaac Sananes, Canadian Premier		
2000	Russell Dunbar, TD Insurance	Isaac Sananes, Canadian Premier (Mar 2000 onwards) Bernard Dorval, Canada Trust (until Mar 2000)		
1998	Russell Dunbar, TD Insurance	Bernard Dorval, Canada Trust		

Last Updated: April 10, 2018