

Agenda Item 3(a)
June 8/21 Board Meeting

Results of Recent Outreach to EOC Members To Create Succession Pipeline of Committee Chairs and Vice-Chairs

From: Brendan Wycks Sent: May-25-21 1:44 PM

To: EOC Members

Subject: Update Re CAFII Committee Chair and Committee Vice-Chair Appointments To Be

Confirmed/Approved At May 25/21 EOC Meeting; and May 2021 Regulatory Update Now Attached

CAFII EOC Members:

I'm pleased to update the approval/confirmation notification which I circulated on Friday, May 21, by indicating that TD Insurance has today nominated Scott Kirby for the position of Vice-Chair of the Media Advocacy Committee.

Therefore, in this afternoon's EOC meeting, EOC Chair & Board Secretary Rob Dobbins will be seeking the EOC's approval/confirmation of the following slate of Committee Chair and Committee Vice-Chair appointments, at the beginning of the meeting:

Nominee for Chair of Media Advocacy Committee

-Anita Mukherjee, RBC Insurance

Nominee For Chair of Travel Insurance Experts Working Group

-Katia Umutoniwase, Manulife (becomes an EOC member, ex officio)

Nominee For Vice-Chair of Media Advocacy Committee

-Scott Kirby, TD Insurance

Nominee For Vice-Chair of Market Conduct & Licensing Committee

-Fay Coleman, TD Insurance

Nominee For Vice-Chair of Research & Education Committee

-Michelle Costello, CUMIS Services Inc.

In addition, **Karyn Kasperski, RBC Insurance** has been nominated for the position of Vice-EOC Chair & Board Secretary. Karyn's appointment to that role, which is a Board prerogative, will be addressed imminently as part of a multi-part, governance-related Written Resolution of the Board (including the recommended admission of Canadian Tire Bank to CAFII Initiation Membership and the appointment of its first Director on the CAFII Board).



As well, member companies have made the following recent appointments to CAFII committees:

New Member of the Executive Operations Committee

-Marco DeiCont, Valeyo

New Members of Market Conduct & Licensing Committee

- -Anu Bains, CIBC Insurance
- -Lindsey LeClair, Valeyo
- -Mabel Tom, Assurant (departing from Research & Education Committee)

New Member of Media Advocacy Committee

-Jacqlyn Marcus, Valeyo

New Members of Research & Education Committee

- -Ivana Veljovic, Assurant
- -Fernando Heleno, RBC Insurance
- -Lindsey LeClair, Valeyo
- -Greg Caers, BMO Insurance

New Members of Travel Insurance Experts Working Group

- -Tracey Torkopoulos, Assurant
- -Heather Defazio, Assurant

Therefore, we are still looking, in particular, for nominees for the following volunteer leadership roles:

- Vice-Chair of the Travel Insurance Experts Working Group; and
- Vice-Chair of the Networking & Events Committee (nomination of Carmelina Manno, Manulife, for this role was received subsequent to May 25/21 EOC meeting. This appointment will therefore be addressed at the June 22/21 EOC meeting).

Thank you to all member companies for the excellent response to our recent outreach; and to all those listed above, welcome aboard into your new roles.

Brendan Wycks, BA, MBA, CAE

Co-Executive Director
Canadian Association of Financial Institutions in Insurance
Brendan.wycks@cafii.com
T: 647.218.8243

Alternate T: 647.361.9465

www.cafii.com